Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This morning, I took the long way home after dropping the husband to the station. My usual 10k run route. I kept searching for a sense of loss or longing but it is not there. Am I in denial or is it for real? The latter, I think. 

One of B.K.S. Iyengar’s famous quotes is, “Yoga teaches us to cure what need not be endured and endure what cannot be cured.” There is a bit of both right now, working towards a cure and enduring the slow process back. I’ve started physio exercises and swimming but it doesn’t feel tiring at all. The physio exercises are similar to yoga poses and I find myself cuing the action points to be kept in mind. I expected to be ravenous after a swim but nothing, no excessive hunger or fatigue. Maybe I have not pushed enough but it’s nice to move without feeling pain. Painkillers are out for many reasons but the most important one is to prevent injuring it further. Pain is a good signal to remain aware of not pushing through it to the point of breaking. In retrospect, the warning signs were present for a while. If I remember correctly, it goes back as far back as a year when there used to be clicking and pain in my knees sometimes. Rest would sort it and I’d be back feeling good. But lately, the lightness was missing and even yoga felt lopsided. 

Some of the poses I use now are

  • Upavishta konasana
  • Dandasana
  • Baddakonasana
  • Supta Tadasana
  • Supta Padangushtasana 1 and 3
  • Tadasana
  • Trikonasana
  • Ardha Chandrasana
  • Parsvotanasa 
  • Virabhadrasana 1
  • Virabhadrasana 3
  • Uttanasana
  • Prasarita padottanasana 
  • Sirsasana and variations
  • Sarvangasana and Halasana variations 
  • Savasana

Trikonasana- one of the basic standing poses perfectly executed by a master. I love the stillness and dynamism in this asana. A lateral extension yet it reaches for the stars…


I use props to support and restrain myself from going full out. This holding back adds a level of difficulty as it calls for more control. I’m not sure if this is what I need to do but it feels good and I stay pain free for a while after. It also allows me to study the nuances of different actions on the poses. It’s a bit nerdy but then, I’m curious. Another phase of learning…

I’d be happy to hear from anybody who has had experience with recovering from chondromalacia patella (just a fancy name for runner’s knee). Thinking back, I did find relief from cervical spondylosis and that journey has been documented here. Perhaps, this too will find its solution right here…

