Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been an interesting couple of weeks. Some good 5ks, a little break due to heel pain and back with a walk.
‘To run or not to run’ has become a non-issue. Barefoot running means listening to the body and she’s brutally honest with feedback.
I suppose it was back to back runs which were a wee bit faster than they should have been which gave rise to a plantar fascitis type pain. I also got complacent with the stretching of the foot after a run and the little roll-a-ball (just my name for it) drill.

image

Just the perfect prop for a quick stretch. I have one at work too which sat unused. Now I wonder why?

It was quite painful first thing in the morning and after sitting for a while. Thankfully, I had recourse to some yoga poses which helped alleviate the pain and it is quite gone.
What worked for me was Baddakonasana, Virasana, Upavishta Konasana, Supta Padangushtasana and the standing poses. I don’t know if it was that or just staying off my bare feet or a combination of both. I went back to slippers for a few days and once the pain was off, tested my feet with a 90 minute barefoot walk.
Walking is actually a good balance to running, I think. Somehow, I forgot how good it feels too. I fell for the classic runner’s smart brain talk, “why walk when I can run?” Anyways, the feet seem to be fine so it will be a short run tomorrow, hopefully. I just wonder how it will be as I am in Mumbai and the traffic here can be quite intimidating. In Pune, I have the luxury of mostly empty roads. Well, that is a bridge I will cross when I get there.
In the meanwhile, it was good to have the extra time in the mornings to just watch the morning come to life and generally indulge in some much welcome solitude.

