Tags

, , , , , ,

I was pleasantly surprised that there was no soreness post my run yesterday considering my recent reluctance to run. Except for a little extra hunger, everything was business as usual. We had a fairly intense yoga class today but it doesn’t feel like there will be any aches and pains later. It usually sets in by evening if there is a likelihood of it occurring.
That got me thinking. Maybe my body has adapted itself to run long. But perhaps it could also be my routine before and after a run. I don’t miss my pre run routine, the post run one is usually dependent on how much I run. If it’s the shorter distances upto 10k, I just walk home and do the couple of yoga poses while fixing something to drink. The longer runs get a little more after care. I do the poses like I would do them in class paying attention to all the alignment cues.

Pre run routine at home
Adho mukha Virasana
Adho mukha Svanasana
Supta padangushtasana 1,2,3,4 with a belt
Sometimes a cycle or two of Surya Namaskars
Post run before I head home
Uttanasana
Prasarita padottanasana
After I come home (after longish runs)
Baddakonasana
Upavishta konasana
Viparita Karani or just lying on the floor with my legs on the chair

The question of running or yoga has been a constant one and I know without a doubt what I would choose, if it came down to it. In the meanwhile, I find it interesting to see how my yoga practice can translate into better running, not necessarily speed or distance but more in terms of effortless running. I guess my personal preference would be for the longer distances considering it takes me 5-6km to warm up. And to think those were massively long distances when I first started running.
My right knee buckled with a sharp pain a couple of times yesterday somewhere in the 3rd km and I thought I might have to cut the run short but after stretching the leg and walking a little, it disappeared. I haven’t figured out where the root of the problem is. Perhaps it is the hip or maybe my quads which seem tight. I feel the sitting bones on my right more than on my left. Another riddle to solve.
Is there a little running spark coming alive? I don’t know. Maybe its a new pair of running shorts that I bought yesterday while not looking for one. Maybe it is stubbornly running a half yesterday. Whatever the reason, I am looking forward to getting out tomorrow.

