Tags

, ,

While running this morning, an equation just floated up in my mind, Asana= physical expression of a mental practice.

The trigger was a small wow moment yesterday during home practice. I could touch my head to my knees in Paschimottanasana. It’s taken a few weeks to get to this point and now the pose will begin.

Sometimes there are days when I don’t want to run or unroll my mat but every time I choose to do so, it builds me a foundation to be disciplined. There are days when I get discouraged and want to give up. Some days the body is adamant and I have to accept those phases just as I take pleasure in the days when I feel like I can fly. Every time I fight the mental attitude, it gets easier. Then I can see it for what it is, an opportunity to build a solid base. Running in particular showed me that I had it in me to fall and get up again and again.

There is an artificial limb centre on one of my regular routes and passing it this morning set off another train of thoughts about my earlier fears of injury.
Once I got over the exhaustion of running and started to enjoy it, I was terrified at the prospect of not being able to run. It was my personal space in time and the thought of not having it was painful. That fear has been lifted. If running was no longer in my life, I would have asana. Even if all asanas are taken away, I would still have savasana and that would be enough.

