Tags

, , , , ,

One of the reasons I shied away from running for many years was people making fun of the way I ran, all limbs. Since I could never see myself, I just stayed in that space of “I am not meant for running”. Fast forward to today and I feel the difference in how I run.
Despite well meaning suggestions and advice, the body learns in its own time.

I found that immersing myself into asana practice helped to find my body sense. It was like having a constantly exploring worm in my head that kept breaking down various activities.

It has been around 8 months since I started yoga and it is only now that I realise how much I can correct my running form with the first asana, tadasana.

At first glance, it appears like standing in attention and so simple that I wondered what was the big deal. Today, I sweat in that pose. As a runner, form is important and yoga is about alignment. Tadasana helps me to identify the areas that are weak and work on them when I am not running. My personal experience has been that running form can be worked on while not running.

As a pose, tadasana allows me to feel my entire body and activate every part. Starting from the soles of my feet all the way to the top of my head. When I stand tall and grounded, I see how my weight is distributed and which side is weaker. This helps me to be aware of how I use both sides of my body.

My initial attempts were just to stand straight and I would wobble. Then slowly standing still became possible. Following that I started to slowly include one area at a time, like the feet, knees, hips, back, abdomen, shoulders and so on. The biggest change so far has been the grounding of my feet, think digging your heels in.

Had a lovely run today and made a new friend, an elderly gentleman, Mr.K who just started running. It was nice to share some tips and hope to see him find the same joy.

