Tags

, , ,

Earlier this week, I was chatting with a friend and mentioned that I felt like a king of the road when I’m alone on the streets. She corrected me saying Queen but I still like King of the Road a la Roger Miller. Rambling on, it never really struck me that there aren’t too many women who run alone around this neighbourhood.

This morning, I was walking before I started my run and wondered why did I run the second time? I remember feeling sore and paining and not wanting to go but I still ran. I thought I did it because I didn’t want to waste the pain and have to start all over again. Although it seemed impossible to run continuously for the crazy distances, I wanted what the other runners had, the ability to go on.

Quieting my mind allows me to listen to my body. Taking time off to be aware and work with the cycles of my body makes it easier for me to work with rather than against what I have. I had a good 10K today, just what I needed to break a pattern.

