Tags

, , , ,

A few years ago, I used to go to a yoga teacher and she would have a separate routine for all the women who were menstruating. In fact, she had minor variations for all the days of the period. It mostly involved Shavasana (Corpse pose) and Badakonasana (Butterfly pose) with props. For an hour, all we did is relax the body and calm the mind. It’s amazing what that class did to us, it seemed to drain all the discomfort and pain that seem to go with those days.
 
Ever since that, I’ve been loathe to pound my body on the first couple of days of my period. I run better during this time though, it’s just that in the longer run, I want a healthy body that will go the entire distance. Plan to take two days off and be mindful of my body and get back stronger.
 
It’s time to get a new goal, maybe a 10K in 10 days (25th May)? 
 
